Performing Arts

BCME logo

Awarded the "Best Communities for Music Education" designation from National Association of Music Merchants for 2017, 2018 & 2019.

 

 

band

 

Lakewood City Schools has a long legacy of excellence in arts education, including the performing arts. From our many performance groups at the high school to our elementary music program, there are many options available to all our students.

If you have a question about our Performing Arts programs, please email asklakewoodschools@lakewoodcityschools.org.

 

LAKEWOOD HIGH SCHOOL

George P. Read Music Department

Band Program (website)
Director: Clinton Steinbrunner  I email I  216-227-5980
Wind Ensemble
Symphonic Band
Concert Band
Jazz Band*
Jazz Workshop*
Ranger Marching Band* (website)
Ranger Pep Band*
*extracurricular

Orchestra Program (website)
Director: Dr. Elizabeth Hankins  I email I  216-227-5990
Chamber Orchestra
Symphonic Orchestra
Philharmonia
String Orchestra
Camerata
Lakewood Project (electric rock orchestra)*
       Check out LP in this coolcleveland.com video
       www.lakewoodproject.com
Four Seasons string quartet*
*extracurricular

For more information on the LHS Orchestra Program, visit Dr. Hankins' teacher website by clicking here.

Choir Program
Director: Rayna Brooks I email I  216-227-5981
Symphonic Mixed Choir
Symphonic Treble Choir
Soprano/Alto Concert Choir
Tenor/Bass Concert Choir
Men's Choir
Chamber Choir* 
Vive Le Four men's quartet*
Fourtes women's quartet*
*extracurricular
 

Drama Program
Director: Domenic Farinelli  I email I  216-529-4162

The Drama program offers Broadcast/Theater Production as an elective through the English Department. Theatre Arts is also available through the West Shore Career-Technical District. The Barnstormers Drama Club performs three plays throughout the school year, including a spring musical.

Non-Performance Classes
Music Theory
AP Music Theory
Piano

MIDDLE SCHOOL PROGRAM

Grade Level Bands
Grade Level Choirs
Jazz Band*
Strolling Strings*
Show Choir*
*extracurricular

Harding Band Director: John Blasko  I  email

Garfield Band Director: Julie Tabaj  I email 
Harding & Garfield Orchestra Director: Patty Mullinax  I email
Harding & Garfield Choir Director: Lisa BlaskoI email

Garfield Middle School: 216.529.4241
Harding Middle School: 216.529.4261

ELEMENTARY PROGRAM

Kodaly and Orff-based General Music
5th Grade Band
5th Grade Orchestra
Performance choirs (varies by school)
Mini-musicals
Field trips to Cleveland Orchestra

Emerson music teacher: Matthew Fitz  I email I  216-529-4254
Grant music teacher: Carrie Smith  I email I  216-529-4217
Harrison music teacher:  Stephanie Grant l email 216-529-4230
Hayes music teacher: Karen Bescan   I email I  216-529-4228
Horace Mann music teacher: Aaron Waryk  I email I  216-529-4257
Lincoln music teacher: Emily Murphy l email 216-529-4232
Roosevelt music teacher: Renee Wagner  I email I  216-529-4224

Elementary strings teacher: Mary Jo Mallchok  I email I 216.227-5707, ext. 8370
Elementary band teachers: John Blasko, 216-529-4261 and Julie Tabaj, 216-529-4241 (see emails under Middle School Programs)

Events & Forms

Events are in Civic Auditorium unless otherwise noted.


Garfield's "Emma! A Pop Musical"
Friday, October 25, 7 pm
Garfield Cafeteria

Music Marathon
Saturday, Nov. 2, all day

Ranger Marching Band Concert
Friday, Nov. 8, 7:30 pm

LHS Barnstormers' "Moon Over Buffalo"
Thursday-Saturday, Nov. 14-16, TBD
Black Box Theatre

LHS Gold Winter Concert
Tuesday, Nov. 19, 7:30 pm

Roosevelt Concert
Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2 pm
Roosevelt Cafeteria

7th Grade Winter Concert
Tuesday, Dec. 3, 7:30 pm

LHS Silver Winter Concert
Thursday, Dec. 5, 7:30 pm

Light Up Lakewood
Saturday, Dec. 7, all day

Sounds of the Season Concert
Friday & Saturday, Dec. 13-14, 7:30 pm

LHS Choral Winter Concert
Monday, Dec. 16, 7:30 pm

8th Grade Winter Concert
Tuesday, Dec. 17, 7:30 pm

6th Grade Winter Concert
Wednesday, Dec. 18, 7:30 pm

Barney's Cafe
Thursday, Jan. 16, 7 pm

Lakewood Project Concert
Friday, Jan. 24, 7:30 pm

LHS Dance Show
Thursday-Friday, Feb. 9-10

Lakewood Jazz Festival
Wednesday, March 4, 7:30 pm
LHS Cafeteria

Grant School Concert
Friday, March 20, 1:30 pm
Grant Gym/Cafeteria

Barnstormers' "The Addams Family"
Thurs.-Sat., March 19-21, 7:30 pm

Elementary Choral Festival
Wednesday, April 1, 7 pm

Wind Ensemble & 8th Grade Concert
Thursday, April 2, 7:30 pm

Choral Pops Concert
Tuesday, April 7, 7:30 pm

Barney's Cafe
​​​​​​​Thursday, April 16, 7 pm
Black Box Theatre

Barnstormers' One Act Plays
​​​​​​​Thurs. - Fri., April 30 & May 1, 7:30 pm
Black Box Studio Theatre

Barnstormers' One Act Plays
Saturday, May 2, 11 am
Black Box Studio Theatre

8th Grade Spring Concert
Monday, May 4, 7:30 pm

LHS Jazz Band Concert
Wednesday, May 6, 7 pm

LHS Chamber Choir Spring Concert
Saturday, May 9, 3 pm
Black Box Studio Theatre

LHS OrchestraSpring Concert
Sunday, May 10, 3 & 5 pm

5th Grade Instrumental Concert
Wednesday, May 13, 7 pm

LHS Choral Spring Concert
Thursday, May 14, 7 pm

6th Grade Spring Concert
Monday, May 18, 7:30 pm

LHS Bands Spring Concert
Wednesday, May 20, 7 pm

7th Grade Spring Concert
Thursday, May 21, 7 pm

​​​​​​​
LINKS

 

Instrument Rental Application

Music Boosters Website

Music Boosters Membership Form