Harding's Maxhimer Named PTA's Outstanding Educator

Posted On: Thursday, May 2, 2019

Nate Bilski Bryce Mitchell

PTA scholarship winners Nate Bilski and Bryce Mitchell (winners Erin Kelly and Tim Daso were not present).


MaxhimerThe Lakewood Council of PTAs handed out its annual awards at a ceremony on May 1 at Harding Middle School including $4,000 in scholarships to students and the Educator of the Year award, which went to Harding language arts teacher Marc Maxhimer (at left). It was also announced that Maxhimer has been named the Educator of the Year for Ohio PTA District 11 as well.

Maxhimer's nomination cited his work as the coordinator of the 8th grade Washington, D.C., trip for the past eight years as well as his initiative in organizing service projects for his students, including collecting pop tabs for Ronald McDonald House and socks for Malachi House. He also serves as an officer in the Lakewood Teachers Association. Maxhimer was not present to receive the award because, of course, he was in Washington, D.C. with the 8th graders!

Earning $1,000 scholarships each this year were seniors Nate Bilski, who is headed to Ohio University, Tim Daso (Rhodes College), Erin Kelly (The Ohio State University), and Bryce Mitchell (University of Cincinnati).

The Helping Hand award goes to a staff member or parent in the school buildings other than a teacher who goes above and beyond in helping students and staff. This year's award went to Grant Elementary PTA Secretary Colleen Worthington for being the go-to person for any PTA knowledge.

The Golden Apple award is reserved for special recognitions of service. It is given to individuals for their outstanding efforts to improve or make a difference on the behalf Lakewood City Schools students and who have been instrumental in supporting and aiding in the success of PTA. This year, PTA Council member Kim Walcheck, Roosevelt PTA member Mary Johnson, and Harrison assistant custodian Laurie Whitmer were awarded the Golden Apple.

Also receiving awards were Harrison PTA for its annual carnival (Family Engagement Award), Lincoln PTA for its Fun Run (Outstanding Program), Grant's K Kids (Community Engagement Award), and Harding PTA (Membership Award).

Finally, PTA Council President’s Award was given to PTA Council Advocacy chairperson and Reflections co-chairperson chair Kim Walcheck, who Council President Joanne Schwark praised for her willingness to step up and handle many of the president duties when Schwark was unavailable for personal reasons this school year.

Kim Walcheck

Kim Walcheck (left) receives the President's Cup award from PTA Council President Joanne Schwark.

Back to School News       Print