Posted On: Sunday, March 15, 2015

First-place winners from Garfield Evan Bell and Christine Larson. Garfield took two of the only 25 first-place awards.

Lakewood City Schools excelled at the annual Northeast Ohio Science and Engineering Fair held the week of March 9 at Cleveland State, led by Garfield Middle School students Evan Bell and Christine Larson, who won first-place awards in their category.

Between Garfield, Harding and Lakewood High students, there were two first places, three second places, seven third places and two honorable mentions.

Evan earned his first place award in Math and Computer Science for his “An Exploration of the Three Square Geometry Problem” project and Christine in the Earth/Space category of the 7th/8th grade division for “Cellphone Spectro Photometer.” Garfield’s Nick Cleary also won second place in the Biology division for his project “What is the best method for cleaning fruit?”

Evan and Christine were both awarded a gold medal and a $100 for their project.  Evan also received specialty awards from the Cleveland State Department of Math, Cleveland State College of Science and Health Professions and the Broadcom Masters Award.  Christine also received specialty awards which included $100 from The Society for Applied Spectroscopy, an Ipad from Rambus Inc. and $50 from Cleveland Regional Council of Science Teachers. All three Garfield students won the NEOSEF Board of Directors Award.

Three Harding students took home third place awards, all in the Physics category: Timmy Daso (“A ReSOUNDing Experiment), Macklin Hurst (Taking A Ride Into Electric Avenue”) and Rachel Owen (“Soccer Ball Air Pressure”).

At the high school, Caitlin Cimino and Abe Dalisky earned second place for their projects in Biology and Health/Medicine (respectively). They each also earned a special award, Caitlin from the Cleveland Clinic and Abe from the CSU Dept. of Biology, Geology and Environmental Science.

Earning third place awards from LHS were Sarah Bene (Behavioral Science, special award from American Statistical Association) Calvin Dolatowski (Engineering, special awards from American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the U.S. Air Force), Eliot Gill (Engineering, special award from American Statistical Association) and Claire Walkosak (Behavioral Science).

Earning honorable mentions were Bobinac (Biology, special award from American Statistical Association) and Louise Figueiredo (Biology).

The special awards come with varying amounts of cash prizes, ranging from $25-$100.

Established in 1953, the Northeastern Ohio Science and Engineering Fair is a four-day event that brings together nearly 500 students from over 80 schools in the area set up their science fair displays, discuss their projects with 260+ judges and compete for more than $20,000 in prizes. One of the most rewarding aspects of NEOSEF is the opportunity for the students to discuss their research with professional scientists and engineers from the local area.

At the fair students compete in nine categories which are subdivided by grade levels. NEOSEF awards one first place, and multiple second place, third place and honorable mentions per subdivision. Students also compete for over 300 Special Awards totaling more than $15,000 that are donated by companies, societies and organizations.






Back to School News       Print