Posted On: Tuesday, January 21, 2014

The successful legacy that the district has built in the Power of the Pen competition continues as Garfield’s Izzy Ostrowski captured first place among 8th graders and Harding’s 7th grade team captured third overall at the district-level competition held Jan. 25.

This is the second straight time a Lakewood student has won the overall district championship as Kent Adams won the 8th grade trophy last year for Harding.

More than 250 writers from 21 schools were part of the creative writing contest at Heskett Middle School in Bedford. The competition is made up of three rounds where the writers are given prompts to jump-start a story. The writers only have 40 minutes to finish their essay or short story. Some of the prompts the students had to tackle were: "You've been sent to your room to suffer in silence. Describe yourself at this task" and "Once upon a ____. Fill in the blank, but do not use the word time."

 At the end of the rounds, awards are given for the top 15 individuals as well of “Best of Round” awards for the top story in each round. Garfield 7th grader Era Bakia earned a “Best of Round” award for her third-round story.

In addition to Ostrowski’s first-place finish, the following writers earned a medal or trophy by placing in the top 15:

9th place: Micah Inak (8th, Harding)

13th place: Samantha Stone (7th, Harding)

14th place: Nate Bilski (7th, Harding)

The next step for the statewide competition is the regional tournament at St. Joseph Academy in March. The top 50% of writers at the district level advance to regionals. Lakewood teams should find out soon who among the

The following are the schools’ Power of the Pen team members:  


8th Grade Coach: Casey Chanter, Micah Inak, Veronica Lee, Sophia Parker, Saige Rook and Claire Walkosak

8th Grade Coach: Ruth Pangrace

7th Grade: Nate Bilski, Ella Calleri, Emily Perry, Lalia Williams-Riseng, Samantha Stone and Nina Zanghi

7th Grade Coach: Pam Sheils


8th Grade: Sarah Bene, Grace Cooper, Abbey Miller, Izzy Ostrowski, Lizzie Shuga and Mira Vainis

7th Grade:  Era Bakia, Nicholas Cleary, Corrina Cooper, Clara McGuan, Solana Petrone, Declan Rohrs

Garfield Co-Coaches: Haley McDonough & Maggie Bacher


Back to School News       Print