ESC/District Honor Excellence in Education Winners

Posted On: Monday, May 16, 2022


Kellyn Donahoe Wally

Kellyn Donahoe (left) and Walker Lueck with Director of Student Services, Lisa Bruening

For the past 43 years, the Educational Service Center (ESC) of Northeast Ohio and State Support Team – Region 3 have recognized students with special needs, peers and educators with the annual Excellence in Education Awards. This year, the District held a breakfast to celebrate its three award winners and included a special regional award for senior Kellyn Donahoe.

FlanneryThe Outstanding Student Achievement Award acknowledges achievements of school-age children and youth with special needs in Northeast Ohio. Kellyn Donahoe is this year’s District winner. Kellyn is also the Region 3 winner for the R.A. Horn Outstanding Achievement Award. This award is presented to one exemplary student receiving special education services and support from each of Ohio’s 16 State Support Team regions. Kellyn was selected as her region winner for her outstanding academic success and extensive extracurricular involvement and service to her school and community. You can read much more about Kellyn in her nomination letter. Kelly will be attending Kent State University in the fall as only one of 10 students chosen for KSU’s Career and Communities Studies program.

The Outstanding Peer Achievement Award recognizes students without disabilities who have established positive relationships and who have assisted other students with disabilities, serving as exemplary role models. This year’s District winner is Horace Mann third-grader Walker Lueck.

The Outstanding Educator Achievement Award honors educators who are the exemplars in designing instructional strategies and programs. Roosevelt Elementary intervention specialist Caroline Flannery (pictured right) was this year’s District honoree.

Congratulations to these amazing students and teacher, and thank you to the ESC for these important recognitions.

Back to School News       Print