Model UN team

The Lakewood High School Model United Nations club recently completed their “season” with an outstanding showing at the Cleveland Council on World Affairs Conference at Case Western Reserve University March 7-8. Senior co-president Evan Suttell won the "Gavel" as the best delegate in his committee (the highest award), representing Ethiopia in the General Assembly.

Multiple students won Honorable Mention awards, including freshmen Max Gilliland and Aiden Bohac, sophomores Sasha Seckers, J.T. Bobik and Nick Cleary, juniors Max Evans and Abby Laform, and senior Albert Foster. LHS likely finished 4th out of 20 schools. 

Club advisor Dr. Chuck Greanoff noted that “the exemplary performance of so many younger members is due to the outstanding leadership of co-presidents Ian Bell, Rachel Daso and Evan Suttell. They were a model of teamwork and commitment, and took initiative in training and planning that made our club function so well. All three have won multiple awards in past conferences, including gavels. 

Earlier this year, Bell and training consultant senior Zach Dudzik were selected to act as committee chairpersons for the Model UN Conference held in Lorain. CCCW Model UNCoordinator Charles Polinko praised their preparedness and knowledge of policies and procedures.

Dr. G cites the “outstanding senior leadership”, along with the positive attitude of all club members, as the primary reasons for the club’s success.  “We win quite a few awards, but I’m most gratified to see students take the lead in our preparation and planning Of course, in Lakewood, everything comes down to community support and engagement.  We owe so much to our parents, and special thanks to the Lakewood Rangers Education Foundation for its continuing financial support for our club.”


Back to School News      Print News Article