Performing Arts

band

Lakewood City Schools has a long legacy of excellence in arts education, including the performing arts. From our many performance groups at the high school to our elementary music program, there are many options available to all our students.

If you have a question about our Performing Arts programs, please email asklakewoodschools@lakewoodcityschools.org.

LAKEWOOD HIGH SCHOOL

George P. Read Music Department

Band Program (website)
Director: Clinton Steinbrunner  I email I  216-227-5980
Wind Ensemble
Symphonic Band
Concert Band
Jazz Band
Jazz Workshop
Ranger Marching Band (website)
Ranger Pep Band

Orchestra Program (website)
Director: Dr. Elizabeth Hankins  I email I  216-227-5990
Chamber Orchestra
Symphonic Orchestra
Philharmonia
String Orchestra
Camerata
Lakewood Project (alternative rock orchestra) 
       Check out LP in this coolcleveland.com video
       www.lakewoodproject.com
Four Seasons string quartet

For more information on the LHS Orchestra Program, visit Ms. Hankins' teacher web site by clicking here.

Choir Program
Director: Rayna Brooks (long-term sub) I email I  216-227-5981
Symphonic Mixed Choir
Symphonic Treble Choir
Concert Choir
Chamber Choir
Men's Choir
Vive Le Four men's quartet
Fourtes women's quartet
A Capella Choir

Drama Program
Director:
Domenic Farinelli  I email I  216-529-4162

The Drama program offers Broadcast/Theater Production as an elective through the English Department. The Barnstormers Drama Club peforms three plays throughout the school year, including a spring musical.

Non-Performance Classes

Music Theory
AP Music Theory
Piano

MIDDLE SCHOOL PROGRAM

Grade Level Bands
Grade Level Choirs
Jazz Band
Strolling Strings
Show Choir

Harding Band Director: John Blasko  I  email

Garfield Band Director: Julie Tabaj  I email 
Harding & Garfield Orchestra Director: Patty Mullinax  I email

Harding & Garfield Choir Director: Lisa Richards  I email

Garfield Middle School: 216.529.4241
Harding Middle School: 216.529.4261

ELEMENTARY PROGRAM

Kodaly and Orff-based General Music
5th Grade Band
5th Grade Orchestra
Performance choirs (varies by school)
Mini-musicals
Field trips to Cleveland Orchestra

Emerson music teacher: Matthew Fitz  I email I  216-529-4254

Grant music teacher: Carrie Smith  I email I  216-529-4217
Harrison music teacher:  Stephanie Grant l email 216-529-4230
Hayes music teacher: Karen Bescan   I email I  216-529-4228

Horace Mann music teacher: Aaron Waryk  I email I  216-529-4257
Lincoln music teacher: Marie Hattman l email l 216-529-4232
Roosevelt music teacher: Renee Wagner  I email I  216-529-4224


Elementary strings teacher: Mary Jo Mallchok  I email I 216.227-5707, ext. 8370
Elementary band teachers: John Blasko, 216-529-4261 and Julie Tabaj, 216-529-4241 (see emails under Middle School Programs)

Events

Events are in Civic Auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Sounds of the Season
Thurs.-Fri., Dec. 14 & 15, 7:30 pm

LHS Choral Concert
Monday, Dec. 18, 7:30 pm

6th Grade Winter Concert
Tuesday, Dec. 19, 7:30 pm

8th Grade Winter Concert
Wednesday, Dec.. 20, 7:30 pm

Grant Winter Concert
Thursday, Dec. 21, 1:30 pm

Grant Cafeteria

Lakewood Project Benefit Concert
Saturday, Jan. 20, 7:30 pm

Barnstormers' One Act Plays
Wednesday, Jan. 31 & Thursday, Feb. 1, 7:30 pm
Friday, Feb. 2, 4 pm & 7 pm
Saturday, Feb. 3, 7:30 pm
LHS Black Box Studio Theatre

LHS Bands Concert
Thursday, Feb. 15, 7:30 pm

LHS Dance Show
Fri.-Sat., Feb. 23 & 24, TBD

Barney's Cafe
Thursday, March 8, 7 pm

Elementary Choral Festival
Wednesday, March 14, 7 pm

LHS Jazz Festival
Thursday, March 15, 7:30 pm

Choral Pops Concert
Tuesday, March 20, 7:30 pm

8th Grade Band Concert
Thursday, March 22, 7:30 pm

OMEA State Large Group
April 20-21

Barnstormers' Musical: "1776"
Thurs.-Sat., May 3, 4 & 5, 7:30 pm

8th Grade Spring Concert
Tuesday, May 8, 7:30 pm

LHS Orchestra Concert
Friday, May 11, 7:30 pm

Lakewood Project Concert
Saturday, May 12, 7:30 pm

Chamber Choir Spring Concert
Sunday, May 13, TBD

LHS Bands Spring Concert
Monday, May 14, 7 pm

LHS Spring Choral Concert
Wednesday, May 16, 7 pm

6th Grade Spring Concert
Thursday, May 17, 7:30 pm

7th Grade Spring Concert
Monday, May 21, 7:30 pm

Jazz Band Concert
Tuesday, May 22, 7 pm

5th Grade Instrumental Concert
Wednesday, May 22, 7 pm



LINKS

Music Boosters page

FORMS
Music Boosters 2017-2018 Membership Form